Mount Allison University in New Brunswick since many Nova Scotians attend it. The government also supports the faculty of forestry at the University of New Brunswick. In turn, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island students are supported at the Nova Scotia Agricultural College, and at the faculties of medicine and dentistry at Dalhousie.

New Brunswick

The province is divided into seven regions, each administered by a superintendent, and subdivided into 33 school districts. Every district is under the authority of a board of trustees. All board members serve a three-year term. Some are elected; others are appointed by the lieutenant-governor-in-council.

School attendance is compulsory from 7 to 16. Kindergarten is not offered in the public system. Students progress through 12 years of school to junior matriculation. The most common organization patterns are: elementary (grades 1-6), junior high (grades 7-9) and senior high (grades 10-12) or elementary (grades 1-6) and high school (grades 7-12). Secondary students have a choice of three programs: college preparatory and technical; general educational and occupational; and practical. No provision is made for separate schools.

The New Brunswick Institute of Technology, the Saint John Institute of Technology and Northeastern Community College offer post-secondary vocational and technical programs. The Maritime Forest Ranger School is located in Fredericton. In addition to hospital schools, the Saint John School of Nursing provides RN training.

After grade 12, four years of study are required for a first degree. The province's four universities are the University of New Brunswick, St. Thomas University, Mount Allison University and Université de Moncton, the last providing higher education to the French-speaking population.

Quebec

Much of the present education system resulted from a 1961 royal commission study of education. In 1964, acting on the commission's recommendations, the government passed legislation that created a ministry of education. The province was divided into nine administrative areas, each containing a regional education office headed by a director. A superior council of education was also created in 1964 as a public consultive body to supplement the department. Its 24 members are appointed by the government for a four-year term.

Each municipality has one or more public schools under the control of school commissioners or trustees. Elected five-member boards of school commissioners operate schools for an area's majority population, Roman Catholic or Protestant. However, a minority of ratepayers may constitute a separate school municipality under a board of school trustees. This three-member board, too, is elected and can own property, levy taxes, receive government grants, operate schools and hire teachers. The province, excluding Montreal, contains 189 school commissions grouped into 64 regional school boards; nine are Protestant. Montreal has an additional seven school commissions.

The ages of compulsory attendance are 6 to 15 although kindergartens admitting 5year-olds are now part of the system. Elementary school consists of six years based on continuous progress. The comprehensive secondary program lasts five years. Promotion throughout is by subject and, unlike most other provinces, a final departmental exam is required for graduation.

Post-secondary education begins in the tuition-free CEGEPs. Inaugurated in 1967-68, CEGEPs generally resulted from reorganization of existing institutions such as normal schools, classical colleges and technical institutes. They are administered by a public corporation composed of faculty, students, parents and community representatives but depend wholly on the education department for revenue. The department regulates budgets and issues guidelines for curriculum and administration.

Students complete a CEGEP program before going to university. As well as a twoyear preparatory academic program, CEGEPs provide three-year vocational programs that train students for direct labour market entry. Of the 37 CEGEPs, four are Englishlanguage institutions. Nursing diploma training takes place only in the CEGEPs.

6.4.5

6.4.4